WIN A FREE SIGNED COPY OF MY SEQUEL . . .

Stocksnap.io

Since I am working on a sequel to Web of Destruction, each of the next three blogs through August (including this one) will be a hint of a scene in the sequel. So for those of you who have already read my book, feel free to guess which character I am describing.

Here we go . . .

When you look at the photo above, there are two women sitting on the beach. They are not new characters. Based on what you read here, who do you think these two characters are and which one am I referring to in the poetic scenario below?

Please leave your answer in the comment section at the bottom of the page with your name and email. If you are one of the winners, I will put your information in my ‘winner’ box and contact you before the sequel is ready to be published. Sorry you have to wait that long to find out—but I hope it will be worth it!

About the Character in Question . . .

The following poem describes the kind of childhood one of the characters here had experienced. As a result, she, as an adult now, has a mental illness–one that is not always obvious to everyone around her, but will be in my sequel.

The mystery character’s childhood of domestic violence:

Survival

Crash!

The sound of glass breaking,

the clock reads 1:30 a.m. as always.

Mommy is downstairs holding

her head, rocking back and forth.

Quietly, I sneak past her amidst

broken glass, beer cans and butts.

She cries softly, calling his name.

Poor mommy!

From the kitchen, a ray of light

streams onto the cellar stairway,

cherry drops whooshing in water

in a room moist and warm.

Silk nightgown sticks to my body,

sounds of crunching underfoot, big

bugs circling, my hand on a cherry

doorknob, numbed by the scene.

 

Cherry juice gushing in the tub,

swirling faster and faster. Screaming

sirens bring me back, eyes on precious

daddy falling to the floor.

Holding daddy’s sticky red hand in

my lap, I whisper, I love you, Daddy.

Two strong arms gently pull me

away to once again become . . .

                                                 a silent shadow.

Poor daddy!

 National Domestic Violence Hotline: 1-800-799-SAFE (7233)

 

If you choose to participate, please send your response to my email: Gipsnovel7@gmail.com. I hope you are one of the winners!

Best, Gippy

Web of Destruction: http://www.amazon.com/author/gippy-adams-henry

About the post

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

